absentee_votingRegistered voters in Argos, Culver and Plymouth may vote by absentee ballot beginning Tuesday, October 6th.  There are three methods of Absentee Voting for the upcoming Municipal Elections on November 3, 2015.

First there is absentee voting in person in the Marshall County Clerk’s Office at 211 West Madison Street, Plymouth.  Dates and times for absentee voting are:

Tuesday, October 6, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Mondays:  October 12, October 19, October 26, 2015 from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Wednesdays: October 7, October 14, October 21, October 28, 2015 from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Fridays:  October 9, October 16, October 23, October 30, 2015 from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Saturdays:  October 24 and October 31, 2015 from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Monday, November 2, 2015 from 8:00 a.m. to Noon

Another option to vote absentee is by mail.   You must meet specific qualification to vote by mail including a reasonable expectation that you will be absent from your county of residence on Election Day during the entire 12 hours that the polls are open (6:00AM to 6:00PM); you will be a Precinct Official; you will be confined on Election Day due to illness or injury; you are a voter with disabilities; you are 65 years of age or older; you are a caretaker of an individual(s)  confined to a private residence;

you are scheduled to work for the entire 12 hours that the polls are open; you are prevented from voting due to observing a religious discipline or holiday during the entire 12 hours that the polls are open;  you are participating in the Attorney General’s address confidentiality program or you are a member of the military or a public safety officer.

The final option to vote absentee is by Travel Board which will begin on October 22nd.  To vote by Travel Board you must meet the following qualifications: be confined due to illness or injury; you expect to be caring for a confined person at a private residence; or you are a voter with disabilities who believes the voter’s polling place is not accessible.

If you meet the qualifications and wish to vote by Mail or Travel Board, please call the Marshall County Clerk’s office at 935-8713 to make arrangements and to request an application.

Deb VanDeMark, Marshall County Clerk, wants to remind voters of the Voter ID law which went into effect in 2006, requiring voters to present their photo ID before casting a ballot.  If you are voting in person at the polls, or voting an absentee ballot at the Marshall County Clerk’s Office, you will be asked to present proof of identification before you are allowed to vote.  The law specifies that the ID must: display the voter’s photo; display the voter’s name on the ID, and it must conform with the name on the voter registration record, “Conform” does not mean identical; it must also have an expiration date and either still be current or have expired sometime after November 4, 2014, (the last General Election day); and be issued by the State of Indiana or the US Government.

In most cases, an Indiana Driver’s License, Indiana photo ID card, U.S. Passport, or

Military ID is sufficient.


If you do not already have a valid photo ID, you may obtain an Indiana photo ID card free of charge for voting purposes ONLY from any Bureau of Motor Vehicles branch that issues driver’s licenses and ID cards.  For more information, please contact the BMV at (317) 233-6000 or visit the website at http://www.bmv.in.gov.


The Election Board would like to remind you that if you are not registered to vote for the November 3, 2015 Municipal Election, Monday, October 5, 2015 is the deadline for registering.  Absentee voting ends November 2nd, 2015 at noon.