It was a changing of the guard during the County Commissioners’ meeting following their first meeting of 2023. 

The first order of business was the reorganization of the board with Commissioner Mike Burroughs nominating Stan Klotz as President of the board for this year.  Klotz said, “You took me by surprise, but I will do it if that’s what you want.”  The motion unanimously passed.  Commissioner Burroughs was retained as Vice-President and Commissioner Kevin Overmyer will serve as the member.

The 2023 Board Appointments included a few changes with the commissioners also.  Commissioner Mike Burroughs will serve as the county’s representative to the Michiana Area Council of Governments (MACOG) replacing Kevin Overmyer.  Commissioner Kevin Overmyer will replace Commissioner Stan Klotz on the Safety Committee and the Marshall County Plan Commission. Stan Klotz will replace Kevin Overmyer on the Central Dispatch Committee because the board was set up with it being the President of the Commissioners and Council.