NEW CASTLE – Seventeen men have been named to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2023 Silver Anniversary Team, based on outstanding accomplishments as a senior basketball player 25 years ago and Plymouth grad and current assistant coach Brian Wray will be among them.
Wray was the 1998 Northern Indiana Player of the Year, leading the state in scoring at 27.2 points per game, was a member of the Indiana Junior All-Star team in 1997, honored on the All-Sectional, All-Regional, All-Semi-State Teams, along with being named All-State Third Team his senior season at Plymouth.
Wray played at Bethel College, where he averaged 7.1 points per game and his team was the Crossroads League Champion, and runner up NAIA DIV II National Champions. As a freshmen he set the Bethel College 3 point percentage record and led NAIA Division II that year, shooting 53 percent.
Brian joins four other Plymouth High School graduates who were selected to their Silver Anniversary Teams:
1996 – Steve Phillips (1971 graduate)
2007 – Scott Skiles (1982 graduate)
2007 – Phil Wendel (1982 graduate)
2020 – Michael Edison (1995 graduate)
The team includes 10 members named to the 1998 Indiana All-Star squad. Seven other all-state players are included to recognize the top of Indiana’s high school class of 1998.
1998 Indiana All-Stars include Mr. Basketball Tom Coverdale, Adam Ballinger, Kueth Duany, Patrick Jackson, Djibril Kante, Rob Kent, Isaac Kincaid, Maynard Lewis, Rodney Smith, and Greg Tonagel.
The remaining six, named to various all-state teams are Herman Fowler, Lincoln, Glass, Joe Nixon, Jarrad Odle, Steve Reynolds, and Adam Seitz.
2023 Men’s Silver Anniversary Team members will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 61st Men’s Awards Banquet on Wednesday, March 22, 2023.
A midday reception, free and open to the public, will be held at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle. The evening banquet will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis.
Banquet reservations will soon be available on the Hall of Fame’s website or by calling (765) 529-1891. For more information, you may also email