The Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. is proud to announce that a group of 12 senior student-athletes will be honored with the 2012 IHSAA / C. Eugene Cato Memorial Scholarship Awards.

Each individual will receive a $2,500 scholarship for their prep accomplishments and be recognized on Thursday, April 12, 2012 at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in downtown Indianapolis as part of the Brady Sports Achievement Awards established by Methodist Sports Medicine.

To reward the efforts of Indiana’s complete student-athletes, the IHSAA, Methodist Sports Medicine – The Orthopedic Specialists, the Indianapolis Colts and Sport Graphics, Inc. have partnered in sponsoring the program.  These well-rounded, positive role models have demonstrated excellence in academics, school and community involvement, character, sportsmanship and citizenship.

This year’s recipients are:

2012 IHSAA / C. Eugene Cato Memorial Scholarship Award Recipients
Kent Burton Caston High School
JoJo Daghe Speedway High School
Philip Gerber Bluffton High School
Jack Jordan Bremen High School
Ann Kuntz Oldenburg Academy
Bradley Moorhead South Dearborn High School
Zak Nusbaum Hamilton High School
Carissa Pekny West Lafayette High School
Julie Riggins Bloomfield High School
Abby Rogers Bloomington High School North
Rebecca Wornhoff Lebanon High School
Tyler Ziliak Gibson Southern High School

Each student completed and submitted a formal application and had to meet certain criteria to qualify including: 1) be enrolled and participating in interscholastic athletics at an IHSAA member school during the 2011-12 school year; 2) be a senior at an IHSAA member school who will graduate during the 2011-12 school year; 3) win a varsity letter as an athlete in at least one of the 20 IHSAA-sanctioned athletic programs; 4) be nominated by the school’s principal; 5) carry a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or the equivalent; 6) have no violations of the school’s athletic code of conduct; 7) must not have been ejected from any IHSAA contest due to unsportsmanlike behavior and; 8) verify that he/she has made a commitment to remain substance-free throughout high school.

A panel of five individuals decided upon the final recipients. They are: Dr. Mark DeCarlo, Vice President of Clinical Services, Methodist Sports Medicine; Mark Koski, Director of Sports and Events, National Federation of State High School Associations; Melissa Mann, Manager of Advertising, Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance; Chuck O’Hara, Senior Director of Marketing, Indianapolis Colts and; Bobby Cox, Commissioner, Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc.

The scholarship pro­gram is named in tribute to the late former Commissioner C. Eugene Cato who led the IHSAA from 1983-1995. “Gene” also served as assistant commissioner of the Association from 1976 to 1983. His passion for athletics and his belief in the intrinsic value of athletic competition on the forma­tion of a child’s character enabled Gene to positively impact generations of young men and women with his well-known “Firm, Fair, and Friendly” approach to caring for others. He passed away in 2008.

Since 2003-04, the IHSAA has recognized 101 outstanding student-athletes with scholarships totaling $252,500.

NFL Hall of Fame quarterback and retired broadcaster Bob Griese, a native of Evansville, will serve as the keynote speaker for the April 12 awards dinner. Griese and former Purdue University head football coach Joe Tiller will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards that evening.

Jack Jordan has lettered in cross country every year of his high school career at Bremen. He also has earned three letters in track and two in swimming, all while maintaining a 4.05 GPA.  This spring, he will graduate as valedictorian of his class. Jack serves as class president and treasurer of the National Honor Society.  He is an active member of marching band and Academic Super Bowl, but his leadership goes beyond the walls of Bremen High School as he volunteers at the Boys and Girls Club, in community food drives, and the Congressional Election Campaign.  Jack is the son of Jack and Hope Jordan.