The Plymouth High School Speech Team won the Indiana Schools Speech and Debate Association Sectional II championship on Saturday. They have won every sectional championship since 1982.

The PHS team qualified all 40 entries to the state championship that takes place in two weeks. The team was led by Estella Mendez, Gloria Sullivan, Jordon Nethercutt, and Claire Lewandowski, all juniors, who all won two events. Other first place winners include Madelyn Hutchings in Duo, Tyler Travis in Impromptu, Aiden Ruiz in Prose, and Rylan James and Waylon Pitts on OP. Other students qualifying to state include the following:

Alex Kizer, 6th place in Radio

Eva Macey, 6th place in Discussion

Marcy Sickmiller, 5th place in Discussion

Kylinn Kain, 2nd place in Dec

Dariel Hererra, 3rd place in Duo and Drama

Lylianah Seidelmann, 4th in Drama and 3rd in POI

Addison Kingston, 4th in Duo and Drama

Olivia Burch, 2nd in Duo and Humor 

Hannah LaFree, 2nd in OP and 3rd in Humor 

Jonathan Velasquez, 3rd in Duo and 4th in Humor

Katie Fritz, 4th in Impromptu and Informative

Cora Hanes, 2nd in Informative 

Cassidy Riddle, 3rd in Informative and 5th in International Extemp

Maddie Harness, 4th in International Extemp

Lily Macey, 3rd in Oratory and 2nd in POI

Elizabeth Williams, 4th in Oratory and 2nd in Prose

Angel Oviedo, 3rd in Prose and 5rh in POI

Tyler Travis, 2nd in Domestic Extemp

The team is at home this Saturday at the NSDA District Tournament where they are vying for a spot to the NSDA National Tournament in June.