It was a busy day in the Marshall County Clerk’s Office as 17 Republicans took the opportunity to file their intentions to be on the ballot on the first eligible day to file.

Positions on the ballot for the 2024 General Election are Superior Court 1 Judge, County Commissioners in District 1 and District 3, along with the three County Council At-Large seats.  Also on the ballot will be the County Coroner, County Treasurer, and County Surveyor.

Steve Gorski filed for County Commissioner in District 2 and Jesse Bohannon filed for County Commissioner in District three. Bill Githens from Culver filed for a Marshall County Council At-Large seat and Sandra Dodson filed for County Treasurer. 

Tami Napier did a complementary filling in the Marshall County Clerk’s Office for Judge of Marshall Superior Court #1.

Other candidates filing on Wednesday were for Precinct Committee seats.  Candidates are Nicole Cox for North 3, Duane Culp for Center 1, Bill Githens for Union 1, Brenda Harper for Center 3, Matthew Haskins for German 5, Stanley Klotz for German 3, Les McFarland for Bourbon 1, and Donna Pontius for West 1.

Several candidates also filed to be delegates at the Republican Convention in Indianapolis this summer.  There are 18 delegate seats available in Marshall County. Candidates who filed on Wednesday were Jesse Bohannon, Nicole Cox, Jack Garner, Bill Githens, Bryan Howard, Samuel Schlosser, and Deborah VanDeMark. 

Some local school board seats will also be on the ballot in November.  Candidates will file for those seats this summer.

Candidates for the county seats, precinct committeemen, and delegates have until noon on Friday, February 9th to file.