The Marshall County Election Board is preparing for the May 2nd Primary. 

On Monday the Election Board approved the Vote Center Plan which details the locations of the Vote Centers, hours of operation, and the number of voting machines in each vote center for the May Primary. 

Plymouth, Bremen, and Culver will have Vote Centers opened for Primary Election Day on May 2nd.  In Plymouth two vote centers will be open, the Life Enrichment Center on Harrison Street and the Knights of Columbus on Columbus Drive.  In Bremen, the Vote Center will be at The Pines on West Plymouth Street, and in Culver voting will occur at the School Administration Building at 700 School Street.  On Primary Election Day, May 2nd Vote Centers will be open from 6 A.M. to 6 P.M.

Early voting will be conducted at the Marshall County Court House on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays for the three weeks prior to the May Primary, April 10th through the 28th from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. and on Monday, May 1st from 8 a.m. to noon. 

The Court House will also be open the two Saturdays before the Primary on April 22nd and 29th from 9 a.m. until 2 p.m. Municipal voters will also be able to vote in the primary on Saturday, April 22nd from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. at The Pines in Bremen and on Saturday, April 29th at the Culver School Administration Building from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Any registered voter interested in voting absentee by mail must request a ballot from the Marshall County Clerk’s Office by April 20th.  You can call 574-935-8713 or obtain one online at     Those ballots must be received by noon on May 1st.  Marshall County Clerk, Jenny Bennitt also offers absentee voting by the Travel Board.  Requests for the Travel Board are from April 13th through May 1st.

The May Primary is the time for the Republicans and Democrats to select the candidates they want on the November ballot. 

There are four candidates seeking the Republican nomination for mayor of the City of Plymouth.  Republicans Greg Compton, John Grolich, Nick Fisher, and Rick Cooper Jr. (Coop) are on the May ballot. Registered Republicans will vote in the Primary on May 2nd to select the candidate they want to challenge Democrat Robert Listenberger in the November Municipal election.

Republicans in Bremen will also have a race in the May Primary.  There are six Republicans running for four seats on the Bremen Town Council.  Those candidates are Incumbent Bill Daily, Incumbent Michael A. Leman, Joe Blakley, Alex Mikel, Bryan Miller, and Barbara A. Sauter.

Republicans in Culver also have a race for three seats on the Town Council.    Republican candidates in the May Primary are Incumbent Sally Ricciardi, Ginny Bess Munroe, Dana Neer, and Leigh (Boo) Marshall.  There is only one Democrat running for the Culver Town Council and that is Incumbent Democrat Rich West.