Marshall County students preparing to become teachers are among this year’s recipients of the state’s Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. Jack Jordan (R-Bremen).

The scholarship program, established in 2016 through legislation supported by the Indiana General Assembly, awards $7,500 per year to 200 high-achieving students. Recipients must commit to teaching in Indiana for a minimum of five years after graduating college. Current high school seniors or college students are eligible to apply.

“This scholarship helps students who are passionate about teaching and working with children,” said Jordan, vice chair of the House Education Committee. “It’s inspiring to see such bright students pursue teaching with the goal of making a positive difference.”

More than 600 students applied, and Corinne Rhodes and Jessica Baca from Plymouth High School are among this year’s 200 scholarship recipients. Rhodes selected Ball State University and Baca selected Valparaiso University.

Those qualifying for the renewable scholarship totaling up to $30,000 must graduate in the highest 20 percent of their high school class, earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT or have a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.

To learn more and apply for the next round of scholarships opening in the fall, visit Questions may be directed to