Wednesday, January 5th was the first day Marshall County candidates could file for office in the 2022 elections.  The Marshall County Clerk’s Office was a busy place at 8 a.m. with several candidates coming in early to file.

Marshall County Commissioner Stan Klotz was the first one in line to file for reelection.  Klotz represents District 1 but everyone in the county will vote for the commissioner seat in the General Election. 

Three County Council members filed for reelection, the are Mandy Campbell in District 2, Jon VanVactor in District 3 and Steve Harper in District 4.  Matt Hassel filed for reelection as the Marshall County Sheriff and Janet Howard filed to remain as the County Recorder along with Angie Birchmeier who has been treasurer is running for Auditor. 

Ann Anglin who has been the H.R. Director filed for the County Clerk’s opening. 

Other county positions up for election this year include Judge of Superior Court III, County Council District 1, Assessor, Auditor, Prosecutor and all Township Trustees and their boards. 

The final day to file for county offices is Friday, February 4th and the Primary will be held on Tuesday, May 3rd.