On Saturday, October 9, Triton’s reigning Distinguished Young Woman, Madeline Ritchison, announced Hanna Hooley as the winner of the 2022 title. Tim and Melinda Lemler, representing the Breanna Lemler Memorial Scholarship Fund, presented Hooley with a $1,200 scholarship, the DYW medallion, and a plaque commemorating the 58th winner of Triton’s Distinguished Young Women program. Hooley will join other senior girls from across the state the week of February 13, 2022 to vie for the title of Indiana’s 2022 Distinguished Young Woman.

Finalist & Preliminary Scholarship Winners

  • DYW of Triton 2022: Hanna Hooley – $1,200
  • First Runner-Up: Sadie Barber – $600
  • Second Runner-Up: Melissa Slabaugh – $500
  • Directors Choice: Hanna Hooley – $300
  • Scholastic Achievement: Sadie Barber – $300
  • Interview: Sadie Barber – $300
  • Fitness: Hanna Hooley – $300
  • Self-Expression: Sadie Barber – $300
  • Talent: Emma Lemler – $300
  • Spirit of DYW: Melissa Slabaugh – $200
  • Ticket Sales: Melissa Slabaugh – $100
  • Artistic Ad: Melissa Slabaugh – $100
  • Participation: HaileyJo Mendoza – $200
  • Triton Junior Mister: MaClain Middaugh – $200

Distinguished Women of Triton is a not-for-profit organization, with 100 percent of ticket sales and donations from the community going towards the scholarship fund and program’s sustaining fees.

Since its beginning, Junior Miss, now known as Distinguished Young Women, has awarded high school seniors scholarships for their academic and on stage performances. Each contestant is judged in five categories: scholastic achievement (25%), interview (25%), talent (20%), fitness (15%), and self-expression (15%). Prior to the show a third party tallies each contestant’s scholastic score based on their GPA, SAT, and level of class difficulty. The day of the show a panel of judges will spend 10 minutes conducting a personal interview with each contestant. During the show the audience is able to enjoy the 90-second talents, a fitness routine, and self-expression portion of judging.

After all the scores have been tallied during a short intermission, the Triton DYW Board along with numerous local sponsors will award $4,900 in scholarships. Preliminary awards include scholastic achievement, fitness, self-expression, talent, Spirit of Junior Miss, and interview. Triton’s 2021 DYW, Madeline Ritchison, will return to share her experience, take a final walk, and announce the 2022 winner.

Founded in 1958, Distinguished Young Women is a free program that encourages participants to reach their full individual potential. Our mission is to empower young women by providing over $1 billion in scholarship opportunities, connecting with a nationwide network of women, developing their self-confidence, and participating in our Life Skills Workshops that prepare them for success after high school. National sponsors include Barbara Barrington Jones Family Foundation, Mobile County, City of Mobile, Alabama Power Foundation, Shoe Station, Gant Travel Management, Wellington and Bonnie Coffeen, Regions Financial Corporation, Jostens and Alabama Media Group.

For more information about Distinguished Young Women, contact Tara Principe, National Headquarters Marketing and Communications Director, at 251-438-3621 or Tara@DistinguishedYW.org or visit www.DistinguishedYW.org.