U.S. Senator Todd Young (R-Ind.) joined over 200 members of Congress in filing an amicus brief supporting the State of Mississippi in Dobbs v. Jackson Women’s Health Organization and urging the U.S. Supreme Court to uphold Mississippi’s law protecting life.

In the amicus brief, the lawmakers ask that “the Court uphold Mississippi’s law as effectuating important state interests, or, alternatively, return this case to the lower courts for consideration.”

The State of Mississippi in 2018 enacted the Gestational Age Act, a state law prohibiting abortion after 15 weeks’ gestation, except in cases of medical emergency. The Jackson Women’s Health Organization, an abortion clinic in Jackson, Miss., sued on the grounds that the law violates the viability standard established by Planned Parenthood v. Casey. The Fifth Circuit affirmed the district court’s grant of summary judgment to the plaintiff on these grounds.

This fall, the Supreme Court will hear Dobbs v. Jackson Women’s Health Organization to consider the question of whether all pre-viability prohibitions on elective abortions are unconstitutional. This case represents the most significant challenge to Roe v. Wade and the viability standard in Planned Parenthood v. Casey in a generation. The State of Mississippi filed its case with the Supreme Court on July 22, 2021.

In addition to Senator Young, other Senators who signed the brief include Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Richard Shelby, (R-Ala.), James M. Inhofe (R-Okla.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Richard Burr, (R-N.C.), John Thune (R-S.D.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), James E. Risch (R-Idaho), Roy Blunt, (R-Mo.) Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-La.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Joni K. Ernst (R-Iowa), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), John Kennedy (R-La.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Cynthia M. Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), and Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.).

Click here to read the full amicus brief.