Walorski_officialU.S. Representative Jackie Walorski (R-Ind.) today released the following statement on federal grant funding through the new COVID-19 Response Program to support coronavirus response efforts and assist small businesses:
“As Hoosiers continue doing our part to slow the spread of coronavirus, our communities are getting more assistance to combat coronavirus, serve our neighbors in need, keep small businesses afloat, and save jobs. This funding will provide a critical lifeline to small businesses and their employees in LaPorte County, Kosciusko County, Miami County, and the City of Wabash. Federal grants will also help Marshall County provide critical information to residents and allow Starke County to deliver essential supplies to individuals who are quarantined or medically vulnerable.
“I’m grateful to Governor Holcomb, Lieutenant Governor Crouch, the Office of Community and Rural Affairs, and the new COVID-19 Response Program for getting these vital resources to our communities. I look forward to continuing to work together to fight this invisible enemy and help Hoosiers get through this crisis.”


Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch and the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs on Thursday announced 49 rural Hoosier communities will receive more than $8.8 million in federal grant funding through the new COVID-19 Response Program. Grant awards in Indiana’s 2nd District include:
• Marshall County is awarded $150,000 to install electronic billboards to help communicate information about the county’s response and resources available to residents.
• Starke County is awarded $75,000 to establish service through a local non-profit to deliver needed supplies to quarantined individuals or those who are medically vulnerable.
• The City of Wabash is awarded $250,000 to provide grants to hospitality, food and beverage, tourism, manufacturing and retail sectors. Grant amounts would range from $2,000 to $15,000 and would be available on a first come, first serve basis for applicants meeting the low-to-moderate (LMI) criteria that are confirmed by a review committee.
• LaPorte County is awarded $250,000 to provide grants to small business to serve as working capital for the purpose of retaining jobs within those businesses.
• Kosciusko County is awarded $245,000 to offer zero interest, forgivable loans to businesses for the purpose of business retention within the County.
• Miami County is awarded $250,000 to assist small businesses in retaining employees and paying for operational expenses.
An earlier round of grants included funding for Fulton County, the Town of North Manchester, and the City of Knox to help small businesses save jobs.
Walorski represents the 2nd Congressional District of Indiana, serving as a member of the House Ways and Means Committee.