property_taxMarshall County Treasurer Angie Birchmeier reminds residents that the due date for 2019 Payable 2020 Tax Payments is May 11, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 Crisis, residents are urged to pay their spring tax payments by mail.

Since the Marshall County Building is temporarily closed to the public, payments are accepted through the regular United States Post Office via check, money order or cashier’s check. Credit or debit cards may be used online at by clicking on Property Taxes (convenience fees may apply).

Additionally, the Town of Bremen and First Merchants Bank in Bourbon, have agreed to accept tax payments. In order to pay at these collection points, residents MUST include their tax payment, coupon (and a self-addressed, stamped envelope only if a receipt is requested) in a sealed envelope. Residents are also able to pay at ANY Teachers’ Credit Union location. Please remember to use the drive-up only at any of these locations, since their lobbies remain closed during this time.

For the public’s convenience, the Marshall County Treasurer’s Office has installed dropboxes at both the north and south entrances of the Marshall County Building. These boxes are located between the doors, in the vestibule. The locked boxes will be checked multiple times daily. Additionally, there is an existing dropbox on the outside of the south side of the building, near the Prosecuting Attorney’s Office.

Governor Eric Holcomb granted a 60-day waiver of penalties for NON-ESCROW tax bills only; although residents who have the ability to pay on-time are urged to do so. Property taxes fund Marshall County, as well as the cities and towns in it, schools, libraries and emergency services.

Residents are welcome to call us at 574-935-8520 with any questions or concerns. We appreciate the public’s patience and understanding during this difficult time.