Triton_Distinguished_Woman2019_WhytnieMillerSmallOn Saturday, September 21, Triton’s reigning Distinguished Young Woman, Abigail Powell, announced Whytnie Miller as the winner of the 2020 title.  Tim and Melinda Lemler, representing the Breanna Lemler Memorial Scholarship Fund, presented Miller with a $1,200 scholarship, the DYW medallion, a bouquet of roses, and a plaque commemorating the 56th winner of Triton’s Distinguished Young Women program.  Miller will join other senior girls from across the state the week of February 9, 2020 to vie for the title of Indiana’s 2020 Distinguished Young Woman.

Each participant was judged in five categories: scholastic achievement (25%), interview (25%), talent (20%), fitness (15%), and self-expression (15%). Prior to the show a third party tallied each contestant’s scholastic score based on their GPA, SAT, and level of class difficulty.  A panel of five judges spent 10 minutes conducting a personal interview with each participant prior to the show.  The ladies then answered an onstage question, wowed the audience with their talents, and performed a fitness routine before the judges.

Triton_Distinguished2019Since it’s beginning, Junior Miss, now known as Distinguished Young Women, has awarded high school seniors scholarships for their academic and on stage performances.  DYW of Triton is a not for profit organization, with 100 percent of ticket sales and donations from the community going towards the scholarship fund and program’s sustaining fees.  The Triton DYW Board of Directors would like to thank the many local businesses and individuals that contributed to this year’s scholarship fund.  Without their financial support and the numerous volunteers who put the show together, the program would not be possible.
Finalist & Preliminary Scholarship Winners

  • DYW of Triton 2020: Whytnie Miller – $1,200
  • First Runner-Up: Alyxa Viers – $600
  • Second Runner-Up: Tiffaney Hughes – $500
  • Third Runner-Up: Haley Hooley – $400
  • Directors Choice: Lauren Hedington – $300
  • Scholastic Achievement: Whytnie Miller – $300
  • Scholastic Achievement Runner-Up: Caitlyn Ihnen – $200
  • Interview: Alyxa Viers – $300
  • Fitness: Whytnie Miller – $300
  • Self-Expression: Whytnie Miller -$300
  • Talent: Alyxa Viers – $300
  • Spirit of DYW: Brooklyn Patton – $200
  • Ticket Sales: Whytnie Miller – $100
  • Artistic Ad: Taylor Cormican – $100
  • Triton Junior Mister: D’Angelo Shumpert – $200