Senator Young 7-7-19U.S. Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Representative Larry Bucshon M.D. (R-IN-08), and members of the Indiana delegation sent a letter to U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue today in strong support of a Secretarial disaster designation in 88 counties following adverse weather conditions in Indiana. The letter follows a recent joint request for the designation from Governor Holcomb, Lieutenant Governor Crouch and the Indiana USDA State Emergency Board.

“Indiana farmers experienced prolonged rains for the 2019 spring season, affecting their ability to plant corn and soybeans in a timely fashion before crop insurance deadlines passed. This adverse weather caused many farmers to file prevented planting claims and those able to plant will inevitably face a shortened growing season with decreased yields at harvest time.

“To that end, 88 counties are requesting a disaster designation from the Secretary of Agriculture based on unplanted fields, damage and losses of at least 30% of a single crop caused by excessive rain, flooding and/or a significant number of affected producers. The crop losses were attributed to heavy precipitation that resulted in difficulties accessing fields, negative impacts on plant growth and emergence, and will have long-lasting market implications,” said the letter.

In addition to Senator Young, Senator Braun and Representative Bucshon, the letter was also signed by the entire Indiana delegation including Representatives Pete Visclosky (D-IN-01), Jackie Walorski (R-IN-02), Susan W. Brooks (R-IN-05), André Carson (D-IN-07), Trey Hollingsworth (R-IN-09), Jim Banks (R-IN-03), James R. Baird (R-IN-04), and Greg Pence (R-IN-06).

The full text of the letter can be found here and below.