Young & BraunWednesday, U.S. Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.) and Mike Braun (R-Ind.) along with Senators Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.) and Ben Sasse (R-Neb.) introduced a resolution to mark the anniversary of the United States’ withdrawal from the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) with Iran. The resolution highlights the shortcomings of the Iran nuclear agreement, reaffirms Congressional opposition to Iran ever acquiring a nuclear weapons capability, and rejects the reapplication of JCPOA sanctions relief.

“This resolution serves as a critical reminder of the deep flaws present in President Obama’s nuclear deal with Iran. From the beginning, this deal enabled the world’s leading state sponsor of terrorism to have relief from sanctions without dismantling their nuclear program. On this one year anniversary of our decision to withdraw from the deal, Iran has once again reminded the world of their true intentions by threating to enrich its stockpile of uranium. Additionally, and despite Iran’s collapsing economy, the Iranian regime has also decided it would rather pursue nuclear weapons instead of selling their excess uranium and heavy water to help its own economy. We must stand firm on our maximum pressure campaign and never permit the Iranian regime to develop a nuclear weapon,” said Senator Young.

“President Trump made a courageous decision to withdraw from the Iran nuclear deal, which builds off his success of rooting out ISIS and keeping our country safe from the threat of global terrorism,” said Senator Braun.


View the full text of the resolution here.