PHS_SeniorAwards2018Plymouth High School held the annual end of the year Senior Awards Assembly on Friday, May 11th in the varsity gymnasium.

More than $2 million dollars in grants and scholarships were awarded to the 2018 graduating class.

Over the past few months, dozens of PHS seniors applied and interviewed for hundreds of grant and open scholarship opportunities. Many grants and/or scholarships weren’t revealed until the assembly unfolded live Friday morning.

Plymouth High School administrators say this annual event would not be possible if it wasn’t for the generosity of individuals, businesses and organizations in the Plymouth, Marshall County, and surrounding communities.

The school-wide assembly was open to the public and lasted just a little over three hours. Congratulations to all of the students who received recognition in the form of a grant or scholarship for their Plymouth High School academic accomplishments.

PHS_SeniorAwards2018_Scholar AthletesAthletic scholarships were the first awards to be presented.  Jean Skirvin and Tracy and Scott Hilliard representing the Plymouth Athletic Booster Club presented the Monthly Academic Athletes with $100 scholarships.  Those students receiving the scholarships included Emily Cochern, McKenzie Scheetz, Makenzie Quissell, Leah Smith, Summer Smith, Cortni Cook, Kristen Brown, Jenna Nifong, Bailey Eveland, Christin Davidson, Payton Skirvin, Zachary Stiller, Nathan LaFree, Noah Pesak, Brock Witmer, Wyatt Howard, Kadin McCrammer, Sean Masson, Jesus Jimenez Garcia and Elijah Allmon.

PHS_SeniorAwards2018_Scholar Athletes winnersFrom this group, one girl and one boy was selected to each receive a $1,500 scholarship.  Makenzie Quissell and Payton Skirvin were honored as the Plymouth Athletic Booster Scholar of the Year and received the Scholarships.

Bob Kizer, the nephew of Noble Kizer presented the Kizer Athletic Awards.  Bob gave some back ground on the award.  In 1957 the Kizer Award was started by the service clubs of Plymouth.  Noble E Kizer was born in 1900.  At Plymouth High School he participated in basketball and track, the only sports offered at that time.  He graduated in 1919 after serving in the Marines and went to work at Studebakers in South Bend. During a pickup basketball game Nute Rockeny noticed him because of his athletic ability offered Noble a chance to play football at Notre Dame. He was a lineman for the Four Horseman and played on the 1924 National Championship Team.  He also played basketball at Notre Dame and was captain of the team in the 1924-25 season and was an All American in basketball.  In 1925 he became an assistant football coach at Purdue and head football coach in 1930 and has the best winning percentage record at Purdue that still stands today.  He later became the Athletic Director at Purdue.  In 1936 he was forced to retire from the football program because of ill health and died in 1940.

PHS_SeniorAwards2018_Kizer AwardsMcKenzie Scheetz was selected as the 2018 female Kizer Award winner.  This year there was a true tie for the best male athlete and Bengie Nixon and Nate LaFree.

PHS_SeniorAwards2018_Kent GuildPlymouth Athletic Director Roy Benge presented the Dr. Kent Guild Mental Attitude Award.  This award is presented annually to a senior involved in PHS athletics and shows a passion for service unselfishness and helpfulness on a daily basis and exemplifies teamwork on and off the field or court.  Dr. Guild served at the team doctor from 1964 until 2000. The 2018 recipients are Leah Smith and Payton Skirvin.

PHS_SeniorAwards2018_Athletic ScholarshipTrack Coach Curtis Nordman presented an Athletic Scholarship to Nathan Patterson.  Last year Nathan was the state champion in high jump, second in the whole nation in outdoor track and field championships and currently holds the Plymouth High School high jump record at 7’2”.  This past week he jumped 7’1” at the NLC conference championship earning a first place as well as the new NLC high jump record.  He is currently seated in the top ten of the nation.  Nate had committed to attend USC next year where he will be high jumping on their track team.  He received a full-ride scholarship in the amount of $280,000 over his four years.

PHS_SeniorAwards2018_Rockie Football ScholarshipTom Wiers presented the Wayne and Heddy Wiers Rockie Football Scholarship.  The recipient must satisfy three criteria: must have participated in football in their sophomore, junior and senior years; demonstrated a contagious attitude and exemplary work ethic on and off the field and lastly been an honorable example by following the PHS Code of Conduct.  The winner is selected by the head coach and two assistant coaches.  This year’s winner, Nathan LaFree will receive a $2,000 scholarship.





Photos taken by PTV Radio/TV PHS Freshman Allissa Hartman and PHS Career Marketing Sophomore Hannah Gibson