Miller's_Age of Excellence April 2018 (1)Department Managers and volunteer honorees from Miller’s Senior Living Community Campus attended the 22nd Annual REAL Services Age Of Excellence Awards Luncheon at the Century Center of South Bend on Friday, April 20.  Nominees from the Plymouth campus were Doug Brenner, Miller’s Merry Manor Social Services Director and volunteer Nancy Smiley was the nominee from the Assisted Living.  The keynote speaker for the event was Andrew T. Berlin; Chairman and owner of the South Bend Cubs and Chairman and CEO of Berlin Packaging, Inc.

Berlin shared his thoughts on the subject of volunteerism and said that it is in the human DNA structure.  Humans are built to care about others and to give to others.  He also talked about the fact that individual human beings can “change the world”if they do five things:  we must put our nation in order.  To do that we must put our community in order.  To do that we must put our family in order; and before we put our family in order we must put our “self” in order.  If we follow this guideline we can do anything we set our minds to do.

Awards were then announced.   Receiving awards in the following categories were:

Business of the Year:  Hubbard Hill of Elkhart

Professional of the Year:  Roger Hershberger

Wyatt Mick Volunteer of the Year:  Vera Berger

Agency/Program serving Low income of the Year:  LaPorte County Meals on Wheels

Change Agent of the Year:  Mike Bieganski

Caregiver of the Year:  Patricia Ann Griffin

Sgt. Shriver Achievement Award:  Martha Beyler

Les Fox Hoosier Lifetime Award:  Genevieve Szynski

As an added surprise Berlin gave everyone in attendance a voucher for one ticket to ANY 2018 regular season South Bend Cubs baseball game.


Photo Caption: Miller’s Age of Excellence Volunteer nominees in front are Doug Brenner and Nancy Smiley.  Department Managers present were from left-right:  Dwight Brown, Regional Vice President; Cindy Flagg, Activity Director; Heather Birk, Director Of Nursing; Angie Bradfield, MDS; Gwen Calvert, Director of Healthcare Development; Bethany Andrews, RSD; and Tiffany Addington. Nurse Liaison.