Plymouth High School students who are part of the Future Teachers of America (FTA) club got to spend Thursday, April 12 job shadowing one of their favorite Plymouth Community School Corporation teachers.

Close to four dozen students spent the day at Lincoln Jr. High School, Riverside Intermediate School, Menominee Elementary School, Webster Elementary School, Washington Discovery Academy, or Jefferson Elementary School.

Each student selected one of his/her favorite teachers and spent the entire day shadowing them in their classroom. FTA students got to assist their selective teachers by participating in simple teaching activities. The field trip allows students to get a glimpse of what it means to be a teacher. PHS FTA club sponsor and PHS Science teacher Suzette Read who organized the annual field trip said this field trip helps shape the future and Plymouth High School Principal Jim Condon agrees. “It offers our high school students a unique opportunity to put on a teaching hat to see if the fit is right. The day also builds mentoring relationships that could actually become strong enough to inspire some of our next generation of great teachers,” said Condon.

Read said it is a special privilege to be chosen as a favorite teacher by a former student and she has never had a host teachers who has not enjoyed having a PHS FTA member spend the day in their classroom.

All of the PHS FTA students and their paired up teachers are listed below.

Photos were taken by PHS Career Marketing Sophomore Hannah Gibson while at Lincoln Junior High School.
Jefferson Elementary
Halle Reichard (Ms. Angela Hissong) – Interventionist
Lindsay Janus (Ms. Betsy Bowen)
Ella Hissong (Ms. Candace Hunter) – Interventionist
Menominee Elementary
Taylor Drake (Ms. Julie Good)
Kenna McDonald (Ms. Nicole Horner)
Carly Poczik (Ms. Christa Snyder)
Presley Baca (Ms. Mary Dolph)
Andie Kizer (Ms. Helen Corey)
Kenzie Snyder (Ms. Vicki Hite)
Konnor Ray (Mr. Mike Kershner)


Washington Discovery Academy

Bailey Eveland (Mr. Derek Eveland)

Jocelyn Sieh (Ms. Kim Riddle)

Mary Beatty (Ms. S. Johnson)

Makayla Wilson (Ms. Kendall Hoover )

Fatima Ramirez (Ms. Amanda Dreibelbis)


Webster Elementary

Mackenzie Whisman (Ms. Anna Cover)

Meghan Ankney (Mr. Thomas Kinnaird)

Jessie Cooper (Ms. Kari Osborn)

Mackenzie DeJarnett (Ms. Tana Houin)

Sydni Weir (Ms. Crystal Uyhelji)


Riverside Intermediate

Luke Walters (Mr. Eric Knebel )

Audrie Plothow (Ms. Andria Shook)

Elle Lee (Mr. Wade Mattis)

Heidi Hardel (Mr. Zane Cooper)

Harlie Mast (Ms. Crystal Dennie)

Lindsay Weldon (Ms. Nikki Rumpler)

Miranda Beatty (Ms. Mindy Mattis)


Lincoln Junior High

Maggie Nate (Mr. Riley Heeren)
Kendall Rhodes (Mr. Riley Heeren)
Kenzie Quissell (Mr. Riley Heeren)
Kiley Weiss (Ms. Darlene Derifield)
FTA_1Darion Saxton (Ms. Susan LaFree

Bo Meadors (Mr. Matthew Harter)
Xandra Kurtz (Ms. Suzie Garrity)

FTA_2Sarah Collier (Ms. Lauren Brown)

Claudia Marohn (Ms. Lori Day) – Librarian

Gunnar Rains (Ms. Cheryl Caine)

Kyla Heckaman (Mr. Brody Shively)

FTA_3Erin Renneker (Mrs. Sarah McKenzie)

FTA_4Mary Kate Flynn (Ms. Jennifer Grindle)

Ariana Baca-Guzman (Ms. Ellen Gaines)

Hannah Gibson (Ms. Amie Guy)

Mariana Solis (Mr. Ryan Alrich)

Chloe Garner (Ms. Jodi Kallenberg)

Nancy Garcia-Pena (Ms. Paula Neidlinger)