INDOT_signIndiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) Commissioner Joe McGuinness and LaPorte District Directors today joined Marshall County Commissioner Kevin Overmyer, Plymouth Mayor Mark Senter, and local leaders for a ribbon-cutting of the new INDOT Plymouth Sub District highway maintenance facility.

Work began fifteen months ago on this 40,000 square foot, $7.6 million Plymouth Sub District base of operations facility and salt building which features direct access to U.S. 30 and U.S. 31, with close proximately to U.S. 6 from its location at 2845 Jack Greenlee Drive in Plymouth, Indiana.

The state of the art facility replaces the existing Plymouth Sub District building and salt barn which was built in 1978. The new facility will serve the current Plymouth Sub District which covers state-maintained highways in portions of St. Joseph, Marshall, Fulton and Starke Counties, including state highways in Plymouth, South Bend, Mishawaka, Bremen and Rochester.

Tuesday’s ribbon-cutting provided a nice backdrop to INDOT’s kick off of Winter Operations. INDOT Commissioner Joe McGuinness and a representative from the Indiana State Police reminded motorists that hazardous winter weather is right around the corner, as this is Winter Weather Preparedness Week. INDOT encourages all drivers to make sure their vehicle is ready for winter. Check your tire pressure, pack an emergency kit and know your routes before you go.

New Plymouth Sub District Facility:

–          21,135 sq. ft.

–          Full service garage

–          8  maintenance bays

–          Wash bay with room for 2 trucks

–          Administrative section/Conference room

New Plymouth Salt Building:

–          18,896 sq. ft.

–          Fully-contained building

–          7,290 tons of salt

–          Brine/de-icer making system

–          10,000 gallons of boost deicing material

–          Ability to produce 5,000 gallons of brine an hour

–          Brine capacity 40,000 gallons

–          All loading materials under roof and out of the weather

About INDOT LaPorte District:

The INDOT LaPorte District is responsible for maintaining 5,600 lane miles of state roads and interstate, 892 large culverts 824 state bridges, 175 snow routes, 618 traffic signals, 234 flashers, and 58,600 road signs.

There are five sub-districts in the LaPorte District (Plymouth, LaPorte, Monticello, Rensselaer and Gary) and 13 counties (Carroll, Cass, Fulton, Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke and White) within this northwest district.