commissioners-2017The first item of business for the Marshall County Commissioners on Tuesday was the reorganization of the board.  Kevin Overmyer was retained a president while Kurt Garner will serve as vice president and Mike Delp will be the member.

Following the reorganization the commissioners then made their annual department head appointments with no changes from 2016.  Jason Peters will serve as the Highway Superintendent while Laurie Baker will continue as highway administration.  Doug Masterson is head of Maintenance while Gary Masterson is head of maintenance at the jail.  Linda Rippy will head up the County Museum while Clyde Avery continues as Emergency Management Director and Michael Marshall will remain as the county’s IT Director.  Other department head appointments made by the commissioners include Pam Schweizer-Betz as the Veteran Service Officer, Chuck DeWitt as Building Commissioner and Jerry Huss for Weights and Measures.

The Commissioners also approved Jim Clevenger at the County Attorney.  His new contract included an increase in the monthly retainer from $1,250 to $1,500.

Other board appointments made by the county commissioners during their first meeting of 2017 included: Jan Fisher to another 1 year term on the Alcohol Beverage Commission, Teri Baker to the Culver Union Township Public Library Board, Doug Feece as a nonvoting member of the County Plan Commission along with voting members Jim Berger and Mike Delp.   The commissioners appointed Michelle Lilvinghouse to another 4 year term on the County Board of Health, Kevin Overmyer to the MACOG Police Board and Trend Weldy and Joe Martin Jr. to the MACOG Economic Development Board.

Dave Bacon was reappointed to another 2 year term on the Convention and Visitor’s Bureau Board while annual appointments to the county’s Sick Bank Board were Brenda Myers, Matt Hassel and Rhonda Ferguson.  Mike Delp will replace Kevin Overmyer on the county’s safety committee and Overmyer was retained on the Central Dispatch committee.  Commissioner Kurt Garner will continue to serve on the Unsafe Building Committee.