Vote_PrimaryA couple more candidates have filed their intentions to run for county positions on the Republican ballot in the May Presidential Primary.

Rex Gilliland, a retired police officer and detective with the Marshall County Sheriff’s Department and current County Council member filed on the first day to fill the Surveyor’s seat currently held by Larry Fisher.

Dennis MorrisonTwo additional republican candidates have filed for the surveyor’s position, Dennis G. Morrison, a lifetime county resident and farmer from the Culver area filed along with Don Heckford who’s been the surveyor’s assistant in Marshall County since 2012.  At this point the republicans will have three candidates to choose from when they vote in the primary on May 3rd.

Steve Heim from Culver also filed for a county position on Wednesday.  Heim will challenge William Cleavenger for the republican nod to be the next County Treasure, a position currently held by Penny Lukenbill.  Heim is not new in the political world; he served two terms as District 17 State Representative from 2003 through 2006.

At this point there are a couple other seats that have challengers.  The district 3 Commissioner seat is currently held by Kevin Overmyer who will run again and he’s challenged by Bill Githens from Culver who currently sits on the County Council.

There is also a race on the republican ticket for the three County Council At-Large seats.  Steve Harper and Jon VanVactor, incumbents will be challenged by former Plymouth Clerk Treasurer Toni Hutchings, former County Commissioner Jack Roose and local realtor Jim Masterson.

Other candidates on the republican ballot include John Grolich for Coroner and Mike Delp for County Commissioner District 2.

Candidates have until noon on Friday, February 5th to file on the republican or democratic tickets.