Vote centerOn Tuesday the Marshall County Election Board took the first official action to make the county a Vote Center county.  By unanimous decision the board voted to begin the process.  The next steps are to secure a majority vote by both the County Council and County Commissioners and create a plan for the vote centers.

Marshall County Clerk Deb VanDeMark presented letters of support from both the Republican and Democratic county chairmen.

The election board decided to create a seven member committee to create the mandatory plan that must be presented to the Indiana Election Division at least 60 days prior to an election.  Members will include the election board; Sean Surrisi, Rick Huff and Deb VanDeMark, Republic Party Chairman David Holmes, Democratic Party Chairman Jim Smart and two other members possibly poll workers.  To get the vote centers in place prior to the May primary the plan must be sent to Indy prior to March 3rd.  A public hearing will be set prior of acceptance of the final plan.