07/16/12 The Indiana Wireless Advisory Board is a quasi-state government agency established under the Indiana Treasurer’s Office. It has statewide jurisdiction over wireless enhanced 9-1-1 service. Its chair, by statute, is an elected official—the state treasurer, Richard Mourdock. The IWAB comprises seven members: three Public Safety Answering Points representatives recommended jointly by the Indiana chapters of the NENA and the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO), and three commercial mobile radio service (CMRS) members recommended by the state’s wireless carriers. The governor makes the appointments.

Marshall County Commissioner Kevin Overmyer was appointed this month by Governor Mitch Daniel to serve on the Indiana Statewide 911 Board.  His appointment is effective immediately and will continue through June 30, 2015.

Governor Daniels thanked Overmyer for his willingness to serve the citizens of the State of Indiana.  The announcement said, “It is with the assistance of talented Hoosiers like you that we will reach our goal of making Indiana government responsive to the challenges that confront our great state.”