06/12/12 Ending another successful school year, the Plymouth High School administration was recently notified that the band program has again achieved the highest honor given by the Indiana State School Music Association, the “All-Music Award.”

This prestigious award is given only to select schools that participate in all of the different areas of state music competitions.   In order to be eligible for this award, every part of the overall program must be successful.   Requirements for the award include a competitive marching band that earns a Gold Award rating at the ISSMA District competition, both soloists and ensembles that advance to the Solo and Ensemble competition state finals, a jazz program that earns a Gold Award at ISSMA Jazz Contest, and an additional Gold Award rating at the annual concert band competition.   “This award is hard to achieve because it means that every part of your overall program is successful.  There are many schools who excel in one or two of those areas, but struggle in another.  Plymouth is one of only a few schools in our state that have achieved this award annually for almost a decade,” said band director Bryan Ames.  “The kids know that this award is important and they work together to make sure that we are successful at achieving our goals each year.”  This will be the ninth consecutive year that the Plymouth band will have received this award.

This award caps off a successful school year for the band program.   “This year’s seniors will graduate with solid Gold Award ratings at all twenty-two ISSMA events that the band has competed in during their high school career.”

“Achievements like this only happen where music is valued and plays an important role in both the school and the community.   This award not only recognizes our students, but also our supportive administration and parents,” said Ames.  Congratulations to Plymouth High School Band on another outstanding school year and their ninth consecutive ISSMA “All-Music Award!”


PHOTO:  left-right:  Jim Condon (principal), Tori Fox (senior), Lindsey Holloway (senior), Daniel Johnson (junior), Amanda Wolford (sophomore), Elizabeth Wolford (senior), and Bryan Ames (band director