01/31/12 There were approximately 50 entries in the fourth annual Miller’s Senior Living Community Model Car Cruise-In.  D.J. Quentin Flagg kept the fun rolling as spectators took time to peruse the entries and vote for their favorite vehicle.


This year the models were divided into two categories including die cast and kits.  The dietary department provided hot dogs, chips and pop. There were also several games and contests throughout the afternoon.  Contestants of all ages tried the bubble gum blowing contest.  Wayne Flora was the winner as he blew the biggest bubble of approximately ten inches.  Joseph Styers won the rope jumping contest and the paddle ball contest.  Five year old Emily Stiles won the hula hoop contest.  Makayla Wilson placed first in the Twist contest followed by Joseph Styers in second place.


Receiving trophies for the Best of Show were Larry Mayer in the kit division.  He won with a wooden commercial flat-bed semi and trailer handmade by his late father-in-law, Clyde Pentelow.  Lorna Zartman won Best of Show in the die cast division with her Studebaker.


Picture : Marketing Director Anna Corbett presents Best of Show trophies to Lorna Zartman and Larry Mayer.

Picture: Wayne Flora blows the biggest bubble to win the contest

Third Picture Caption: Resident Bill Whitesell checks out the model cars.