John Grolich, the Indiana Volunteer Firefighter Association (IVFA) District Five Chairman announced Thursday evening the 2023 Miss Flame at the district meeting which was held at the Bourbon Fire Department.

To qualify, single females must have an immediate family member who is a member of the IVFA or IVFA auxiliary and an active member of a fire department or auxiliary.  They cannot have any children and be between the ages of 15 and 18 and reside in Indiana.

Savannah Lyon was selected as District Five’s Miss Flame. She will be entered into the State Miss Flame Contest that will be selected at the State Convention in June.  Judging will be based on the fire department and community involvement, appearance, personality, poise, conversational ability, and ability to express ideas.

Savannah is a sophomore this year and is homeschooled, but also attends Heritage Christian Academy in South Bend.  Her activities include running Cross Country for Argos High School, singing on her church’s worship team, being an assistant childcare provider, and helping with the Argos Fire Territory with various activities.  Savannah’s future plans include becoming a hair stylist and photographer.     

Fire Departments in District Five include:

Argos Fire Territory (Argos)

Atwood Vol. Fire Dept. (Atwood)

Aubbeenaubbee Vol. Fire Dept. (Leiters Ford)

Bourbon Vol. Fire Dept. (Bourbon)

Bremen Vol. Fire Dept. (Bremen)

Burket Vol. Fire Dept. (Burket)

Chester Twp. Fire Dept. (N. Manchester)

Claypool Vol. Fire Dept. (Claypool)

Culver-Union Twp. Vol. Fire Dept. (Culver)

Denver Vol. Fire Dept. (Denver)

Etna Twp. Vol. Fire Dept. (Etna Green)

Fulton-Liberty Twp. Vol. Fire Dept. (Fulton)

Henry Twp. Vol. Fire Dept. (Akron)

Kewanna-Union Twp. Fire Dept. (Kewanna)

Lagro Fire Dept. (Lagro)

Lapaz Vol. Fire Dept. (Lapaz)

Macy-Allen Twp. Vol. Fire Dept. (Macy)

Mentone Fire Dept. (Mentone)

Mexico Comm. Fire Assn. (Mexico)

Milford Fire Dept. (Milford)

Monterey Vol.Fire Dept. (Monterey)

Noble Township Volunteer Fire Dept. (Wabash)

North Manchester Vol. Fire Dept. (N. Manchester)

North Webster-Tippecanoe Vol. Fire Dept. (North Webster)

Pierceton Vol. Fire Dept. (Pierceton)

Plain Twp. Fire Dept. (Leesburg)

Pleasant Twp. Fire Dept. (Laketon)

Plymouth Fire Dept. (Plymouth)

Polk Twp. Vol. Fire Dept. (Tyner)

Roann Vol. Fire Dept. Inc. (Roann)

Rochester Fire Dept. (Rochester)

Sidney-Jackson Twp. Vol. Fire Dept. (Sidney)

Silver Lake Vol. Fire Dept.,Inc. (Silver Lake)

Tippecanoe Twp. Fire Dept. (Tippecanoe)

Turkey Creek Vol. Fire Territory (Syracuse)

Urbana Comm. Vol. Fire Dept. (Urbana)

Warsaw – Wayne Fire Territory (Warsaw)

Wayne Twp. Vol. Fire Dept. (Kewanna)

Winona Lake Fire Dept. (Winona Lake)

Photo:  John Grolich IVFA District 5 Chairman, Miss Flame Savanah Lyon, Kay Shumaker IVFAA Board of Directors.