Kelly Einspahr will be the next Marshall County Treasurer. 

Wednesday evening the Marshall County Republican Party conducted a caucus to fill the vacancy that will happen at the end of the year when current County Treasurer Angie Birchmeier resigns to become the County Auditor on January 1st.

Initially, there were three candidates for the Treasurer’s vacancy, Einspahr who filed on December 4th, Kayla Krathwohl who filed on December 2nd, and Anna Buffy Daniels who filed on December 3rd.   At the beginning of the caucus, County Chairwoman Debbie VanDeMark announced that Anna Buffy Daniels had withdrawn herself from the caucus on December 5th.

VanDeMark then told the 25 precinct committee members who attended the caucus the schedule with each candidate having three minutes to speak and the precinct members having a secret ballot.  It was noted that four precinct committee members failed to attend the caucus. 

Speaking in alphabetical order, Kelly Einspahr was first and said that she has been a dedicated county employee for nearly 18 years. She has spent the last 7 years in the Assessor’s office and started in the County Auditor’s office in 2005.  Prior to that, she was the Hotel Manager at the Swan Lake Resort and prior to that was a self-employed licensed cosmetologist. 

Kayla Krathwohl told the precinct members she is a lifelong county resident and graduated from Argos High School.  She graduated from IUSB and accepted a position with a third-party financial company tied to the automotive industry.  She then accepted a position in the Fulton County Auditor’s Office and was there just over a year when a position in the Marshall County Auditor’s Office opened and she was hired by Julie Fox.  Kayla said she is a team player, hardworking with a positive attitude and a smile on her face. 

After their speeches, the precinct committee members adjourned to the back room and voted their secret ballots.  Ballots were counted by non-voting Republicans who attended the caucus and County Chairman Deb VanDeMark announced Kelly Einspahr as the winner.

Kelly will become the County Treasurer on January 1st, 2023, and serve the remaining two years of Birchmeier’s term.