Marshall County Clerk, Deb VanDeMark confirmed Monday afternoon that three candidates have filed their Declarations of Candidacy for the caucus to fill the seat of County Treasure, currently held by Angie Birchmeier.

In the November General Election Birchmeier ran for County Auditor and was elected.  Her current position as County Treasurer ends in December 2024.   She has resigned her Treasurer’s seat as of December 31, 2022, and will become the County Auditor on January 1, 2023, for a four-year term.

Marshall County Republican precinct committee members will hear from the three candidates, Kayla Krathwohl who works in the Auditor’s Office, Kelly Einspahr who works in the Assessor’s Office and Buffy Daniels. 

The caucus will be conducted at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, December 7th at the Marshall County Republican Headquarters, 117 Water Street in Plymouth.  Each candidate will have three minutes to address the voting caucus before their voting.  The new County Treasurer will take office on January 1st and fill the remaining two years of Birchmeier’s term.    

Seating is limited for the caucus.