There are several local races on Tuesday’s General Election ballot and WTCA will provide up-to-the-minute coverage from the Marshall County Court House tonight starting right after the 6 p.m. news. 

In Marshall County, there is a race for County Clerk between the Republican Jenny Bennitt and Democrat Bobbie Reinhold.  There is a race for the District 1 County Commissioner seat between Republican incumbent Stan Klotz and Democratic challenger Jason Haines. 

Voters may have a choice dependent upon where they live for the four County Council Seats.  For District 1 there is no race as William Patterson the Republican is the only candidate. In District 2 there is a race between two newcomers the Republican Deborah Johnson and Democrat Tammy Shaffer.  The District 3 seat also has two new faces including Republican Nicole Cox and Democrat Mark Gidley and in District 4 voters will see Republican Adam Faulstich against Democrat Dustin Schafer or Libertarian Ty Shively. 

Another hotly contested local race is that for Sheriff.  Incumbent Republican Matt Hassel is being challenged by Democrat Jeff Sharp.

At the state level, there are two races for State Representatives seats in Marshall County, Districts 7 and 17. In District 7 Republican Jake Teshka is facing off with Democrat Ross Deal and in District 17 Republican incumbent Jack Jordan will face the Bremen Superintendent Democrat Jim White.  Other state races include those for U.S. Senate between Republican incumbent Todd Young and Democrat Thomas McDermott and Libertarian James Sceniak, Secretary of State Republican Diego Morales, Democrat Destiny Wells, and Libertarian Jeffery Maurer. The State Auditor’s race has Republican Tera Klutz, Democrat Zenai Brooks, and Libertarian John Schick.  The Secretary of State race is between Republican Daniel Elliott and Democrat Jessica McClellan.

On the federal level is the race to fill the seat vacated in August when District 2 Representative Jackie Walorski was killed in an automobile accident. Republican Rudy Yakym will face Democrat Paul Steury and Libertarian William Henry.  There are two races, one to finish out this year and the second race with the same three candidates for the 2-year term from 2023 to 2025.     

Today voters will also make decisions for Township Trustees and Township Advisory Board members and some School Boards.

In Polk Township voters will choose for the John Glenn School Board between Tyler Duff, Megan Lawler, or Todd McGaughey.  There are two races for the Plymouth School Board in District 1 Center Township between Stacey Patrick and Naomi Podlesak and in District 3 City of Plymouth between Robin Cupka and Dalton Tinklenberg.  The Triton School Board also has a race in District 1 Tippecanoe Township between incumbent Teresa Barnhart and Robert Grigsby.