Indiana Commission for Higher Education Indiana college advisors, mentors, student leaders and other advocates are encouraged to join the Indiana Commission for Higher Education for the 2020 Indiana Student Advocates Conference, December 14-16 in a virtual format.

The COVID-19 pandemic has created myriad challenges that have forced educational institutions to rethink how to provide quality learning opportunities for all students. As Indiana and the nation look toward the future of higher education, innovation is not a choice; it is a necessity. Higher education must adapt and create innovative solutions that allow it to thrive through the challenges and to better serve students.

At no cost to them, attendees can participate in breakout sessions to discover innovative practices, share success stories and learn about state policies and initiatives impacting college completion and student success.

Sponsored by the Strada Education Network and in partnership with the Indiana Association of College Admissions Counselors, the Student Advocates Conference will be held virtually this year.

Guest speakers and panelists include:

  • Eric Holcomb – Governor of Indiana
  • Teresa Lubbers – Commissioner, Indiana Commission for Higher Education
  • Anne Bowen – Student Commission Member, Indiana Commission for Higher Education
  • Rafael Sánchez – Journalist, RTV6
  • 21st Century Scholar Alumni Panelists including:

o    Keeley Stingel – Vice President, Talent Attraction and Retention, Radius Indiana

o    Aaricka Washington – Education Reporter, Chalkbeat

o    Abraham Weinberg – Student, Marian College of Osteopathic Medicine

  • Tim Renick – Executive Director, National Institute for Student Success, Georgia State University

Included in this year’s conference is the recognition of the 2020 Stan Jones Student Success Award recipients named in honor of the late Stan Jones who was the founder and former president of Complete College America and former Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education. The award was designed to build upon Stan’s legacy of landmark education policy and student success initiatives.

2020 Stan Jones Student Success Award Winners:

Indiana University East
IU East will implement Educationally Purposeful Peer Interaction (EPPI) so that 21st Century Scholars can receive one-on-one academic support. The EPPI’s primary objectives are to establish peer interactions as a high impact practice (HIP), to increase retention and graduation by recruiting students as peer tutors, to increase the retention and graduation rate of 21st Century Scholars and to offer the opportunity for 21st Century Scholars to become peer tutors.

Indiana University Northwest
IU Northwest will help 21st Century Scholars complete the required College Scholar Success Program activities related to career preparation through various online activities, interactive workshops and networking opportunities with local employers and community organizations.

Purdue University Northwest
Purdue Northwest will host a Summer Leadership Institute for 25 21st Century Scholars aimed at promoting student engagement and success on college campuses. Scholars will stay overnight in residential housing while learning about leadership theories, participating in coaching sessions and more.

Attendees may register for the Student Advocates Conference online.