County news # 2Conducting their first meeting of 2018, the Marshall County Commissioner’s first order of business on Tuesday was to reorganize the board.  The motion was made to keep Kevin Overmyer as President and Kurt Garner as Vice President with Mike Delp as the member.

The commissioners had a number of appointments to make.  The first three were library board appointments.  Kathleen Griffin was appointed to a 4 year term on the Argos Public Board to replace Terri Bair while Anton Zurbrugg will replace Terri Baker who resigned from the Culver Union Township Public Library Board and Allison Mayer was appointed to the Bremen Public Library Board.

Other appointments included the reappointment of Ray Trump to the Argos Plan Commission and the reappointment of Bill Harris to the Culver Plan Commission along with the new appointment of James Faulkner.

Trent Bennett was reappointed as the citizen representative to a 4 year term on the County Board of Zoning Appeals, Jan Fisher was reappointed to a one year term on the Marshall County Alcoholic Beverage Commission and Randy Glingle and Dan Voreis to one year terms on the Marshall County Drainage Board.

Additional appointments by the County Commissioners included Kevin Overmyer to the MACOG Board along with Trend Weldy from the Bremen Chamber to the MACOG Regional Economic Development Board with Joe Martin Jr. as the private sector representative.

Linda Rippy was appointed to the Convention & Visitors Bureau replacing David Bacon and Roger Umbaugh to a 3 year term on the Marshall County Economic Development Corporation.  It was mentioned that the MCEDC board should consider looking for some new younger members and also some female representation on the board.

The Commissioners also appointed Rhonda Ferguson, Sheriff Matt Hassel and Mindy Relos Penrose to the Sick Bank Board, Commissioner Kurt Garner to the Personnel Committee, Kevin Overmyer to the Central Dispatch Committee, Kurt Garner to the Unsafe Building Committee and Garner to the Shady Rest committee.