CommunityFoundation_Lilly2018One Marshall County student has been named recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Marshall County Community Foundation 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

Emma Hundt will receive not only full tuition to the Indiana college of her choice, but also a $900.00 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Emma Hundtis the daughter of Sheila Lakins and Christopher Hundt, Bremen.  She attends Bremen High School.  Emma is planning to attend Purdue University and will major in Engineering.

For 2018, the Marshall County Community Foundation’s Lilly Scholarship Selection Committee, consisting of Beth Styers, Chair, Dr. Don Balka, Carol Bowen, Scott Joyner, Kay Finlay, Karen Schlosser, Tom Rohr, John Small Jr., Jared Weidner and Barbara Winters recommended one finalist and two alternates to the Board of Directors of the Marshall County Community Foundation which then forwarded the nominations to Independent Colleges of Indiana for final selection of the recipient.  The committee reviewed 206 applications and interviewed 3 applicants.

ICI (Independent Colleges of Indiana) administers the scholarship program statewide.  ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, not-for-profit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.


Pictured: Beth Styers, Chair of Lilly Scholarship Committee, Sheila Lakins, Emma Hundt, Lilly Community Endowment Scholarship Winner, Linda Yoder, MCCF Executive Director, Christopher Hundt.