Triton2017Distinguished Young Woman

On Saturday, October 7, 2017, Triton’s reigning Distinguished Young Woman, Lexie Albright, announced Emily Chickering as the winner of the 2018 title.  Tim & Melinda Lemler, representing the Breanna Lemler Memorial Scholarship Fund, presented Emily with a $1,000 scholarship, the DYW medallion, a bouquet of roses, and a plaque commemorating the 54th winner of Triton’s Distinguished Young Women program.  Emily will join other senior girls from across the state the week of February 11, 2018 to vie for the title of Indiana’s 2018 Distinguished Young Woman.

Each participant was judged in five categories: scholastic achievement (25%), interview (25%), talent (20%), fitness (15%), and self-expression (15%). Prior to the show a third party tallied each contestants scholastic score based on their GPA, SAT, and level of class difficulty.  A panel of five judges spent 10 minutes conducting a personal interview with each participant prior to the show.  The ladies then answered an onstage question, wowed the audience with their talents, and performed a fitness routine before the judges.

Since it’s beginning, Junior Miss, now known as Distinguished Young Women, has awarded high school seniors scholarships for their academic and on stage performances.  DYW of Triton is a not for profit organization, with 100 percent of ticket sales and donations from the community going towards the scholarship fund and program’s sustaining fees.  The Triton DYW Board of Directors would like to thank the many local businesses and individuals that contributed to this year’s scholarship fund.  Without their financial support and the numerous volunteers who put the show together, the program would not be possible.
Finalist & Preliminary Award Winners
First Runner-Up: Emma Ross
Second Runner-Up: Montana Golden
Third Runner-Up: Nicole Sechrist
Scholastic Achievement: Nicole Sechrist
Talent: Montana Golden
Self-Expression: Emily Chickering
Fitness: Emma Ross
Interview: Emily Chickering
Spirit of DYW: Jingle Grigsby
Directors Choice: Sara Stevens
Artistic Ad: Nicole Sechrist
Ticket Sales: Emma Ross
Triton’s Junior Mister: Max SlusserPictured in front row L to R: Arminda Chapman Dreibelbis, Breanna Campbell, Sara Stevens, Elizabeth Beatty, Jingle Grigsby; Back row: Nicole Sechrist, Emma Ross, Emily Chickering, Montana Golden