Distinguished Young Woman Triton LogoThe Board of Directors is proud to announce the date for the 54th Annual Distinguished Young Women of Triton Scholarship Program. On Saturday, October 7, nine Triton High School seniors will compete for $3,700 in college scholarships and the opportunity to represent Triton at the state level. A panel of five judges will evaluate each participant in the following categories: Scholastics (25%), Interview (25%), Talent (20%), Fitness (15%), and Self-Expression (15%). The “Hollywood Nights” themed program is open to the public and tickets can be purchased from the participants or at the door for $6. Triton’s Performing Arts Center will open at 6:30pm with the program starting at 7:00.

Participants for 2018 are: Arminda Chapman Dreibelbis of Bourbon, Emma Ross of Bourbon, Breanna Campbell of Bourbon, Emily Chickering of Bourbon, Nicole Sechrist of Bourbon, Sara Stevens of Bourbon, Montana Golden of Etna Green, Elizabeth Beatty of Etna Green, and Jingle Grigsby of Tippecanoe.

Distinguished Women of Triton is a not for profit organization with 100 percent of ticket sales and donations from the community going towards the scholarship fund and program’s sustaining fees.

Founded in 1958 in Mobile, Alabama, Distinguished Young Women is the largest and oldest national scholarship program for high school girls. During its 60 years of operation, the program has provided life-changing experiences for more than 765,000 young women. Distinguished Young Women has provided more than $106 million in cash scholarships and $1.5 billion college granted scholarship opportunities to program participants at the local, state and national level. Previously known as America’s Junior Miss, the program announced its new name in June 2010.

The mission of Distinguished Young Women is to positively impact the lives of young women by providing a transformative experience that promotes and rewards scholarship, leadership and talent. National sponsors include Mobile County, City of Mobile, Wintzell’s Oyster House, Encore Rehabilitation, Alabama Power Foundation, Master Boat Builders, The Barbara Barrington Jones Family Foundation, Regions Financial Corporation, Evonik, and The Alabama Media Group.