Kevin OvermyerMarshall County Commissioner Kevin Overmyer was elected President of the Indiana Association of County Commissioners (IACC) Northwest District during the annual conference last week.  Jasper County Commissioner Kendell Culp stated that “Overmyer will be a great spokesperson for their district and is dedicated to improving local government.”

As District President, Overmyer will represent the elected county commissioners in the Northwest district of the state, which includes the following counties: Benton, Carroll, Cass, Fulton, Howard, Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Miami, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke and White. The IACC is represented by six districts in the state. Overmyer will serve on the IACC’s board of directors, which determines policies and legislative goals for the Association.

Miami County Commissioner Joshua Francis was elected District Vice President during the meeting as well. The district meeting also included discussion on current issues pertaining to county government in the Northwest District.

The elections were held during the IACC’s 2016 Annual Conference, the largest gathering of County Commissioners in the state. The four-day conference included several different workshops, and breakout sessions that were designed specifically for county commissioners and support staff.

The Keynote Speaker, Governor Elect Eric Holcomb spoke about “Building Indiana for the next 200 Years” and ways County Commissioners could partner with the state to succeed in promoting community prosperity and strengthen Indiana’s economy for the future.

Additionally, State Fiscal Leaders Senator Luke Kenley (SD 20) and Representative Tim Brown (HD 41) addressed the attendees on their perspective of the challenges and opportunities for future transportation funding.

Commissioner Overmyer and others attended several training workshops concerning such county related topics on “Building for the Next 200 years” where they discussed building a strong foundation in all areas of local government and focused on Transportation Funding, Asset Management, Collaborative Leadership, Economic Development, Public Safety Communications, Criminal Justice Reinvestment, Data Transparency, and more.


The Indiana Association of County Commissioners is a nonprofit organization established to provide the best education, leadership support, and advocacy services for our County Commissioners to strengthen their influence throughout Indiana.  The objectives of the Association are: to promote cooperation of the county unit with all other units of local government, (cities, towns, township, etc.) and with state and federal agencies; and to promote improvement and efficiency in the delivery of county government services.  The various functions of the IACC include serving as liaison among counties, state and federal agencies, lobbying the Indiana General Assembly on behalf of County Commissioners, as well as providing technical assistance and training to county commissioners and support staff.