12/22/10 Tuesday, Lt. Governor Becky Skillman announced that 13 Hoosier communities will receive grants totaling $10,876,512 for storm water infrastructure projects.  These grants are funded by an appropriation for disaster recovery efforts from the federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program.  These funds were made available to aid in economic recovery after several natural disasters caused damage in many areas across the state during 2008.  Indiana’s CDBG Disaster Recovery program is administered by the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs.

“These communities sustained extensive damage during flooding in 2008, and completing these storm water projects will prevent a similar setback in the future,” said Lt. Governor Becky Skillman.  “Adequate storm water drainage systems protect businesses and residents, and prevent costly repairs and clean up costs which can devastate small communities.”

The Office of Community and Rural Affairs provides technical assistance to community leaders during the 18-month implementation of their storm water improvement projects.  Grantees include:

Community County Grant Amount
Bourbon, Town of Marshall $1,000,000
Chrisney, Town of Spencer $983,500
Dubois County Dubois $1,000,000
Fulton, County Fulton $888,600
Kentland, Town of Newton $974,430
Knox, City of Starke $837,095
Ladoga, Town of Montgomery $677,500
Medora, Town of Jackson $725,000
Morocco, Town of Newton $661,000
North Judson, Town of Starke $736,553
Oakland City, City of Gibson $975,011
Oaktown, Town of Knox $1,000,000
Sellersburg, Town of Clark $417,823