10/11/10 New endowment funds are set to help Marshall County residents with meeting the costs of higher education and enhancing the quality of life.  All of the funds were recently accepted by the Board of Directors at the Marshall County Community Foundation.

 The Wilma Martin Scholarship Fund will provide an annual scholarship to residents of Polk Township who are graduates of John Glenn High School pursuing a post-secondary degree in education.  Mrs. Martin was a school teacher in Tyner, Teegarden and then Walkerton Elementary.  She was known for her ability to teach children to read and she sometimes taught two generations of families.  Shortly after establishing the fund, Mrs. Martin passed away and her family and friends have contributed generously to honor her memory.

 The Pendergast-Rosander-Nye Fund will generate general unrestricted support for the Boys and Girls Club of Marshall County.  Paul and Carol Nye established the fund to benefit the children of Marshall County, especially those who are part of the Boys and Girls Club experience.

 The Plymouth Masonic Scholarship Fund will help provide annual scholarships to students related to a Plymouth-Kilwinning Mason.  Members of the Plymouth-Kilwinning Lodge #149 F. & A.M. promote fellowship, compassion and concern and are involved in numerous charitable efforts like Mason’s helping Kids.

The Triton Jr/Sr High School Fund is a non-permanent fund that benefits Triton Jr/Sr High School.  The fund will be used to further the educational purposes of the school as may be needed in the future.

 The mission of the Marshall County Community Foundation is to serve all of Marshall County, its people and its future through the growth and administration of endowment funding and philanthropy.

 All of the new endowments are open community funds, which allows for all interested persons to make contributions in any amount.  Donations can be made on-line at www.marshallcountycf.org or by contacting Joseph K. Goepfrich, CFRE, vice president for development, Marshall County Community Foundation at 574-935-5159.